Photovoltaic research

The research is very active in the field of solar photovoltaic. Prices fall constantly and yields progress.

En 20 years, yields have increased from 15 % to 42,8 % (September 2007) in laboratories. This figure is obtained by a consortium (combining, among others, researchers from researchthe University of Delaware, Georgia Institute of technology, the University of Rochester and MIT). Yields from systems available commercially are past 5 % to 22 %.

Silicon-based technology has a development comparable to that of the semiconductor industry. A few companies active in this field, as Sharp, are also active in photovoltaics, but more and more new entrants to display their ambitions in this area of growth.

In addition to the constant improvement of silicon-based products, include several innovative technologies hoped promised to a bright future :

  • photovoltaic cells in plastic
  • Graetzel cells
  • photovoltaic concentrators (also called "CPV".)
  • doping by adding to the material of the sensor of quantum dots acting as artificial semiconductor. These are designed to capture specific wavelengths today poorly exploited (Cyrium device developed at the Canada), they could boost electricity production by increasing the efficiency of the hub systems of approximately 44 % According to its designers.
  • metal thin films deposited on new types of substrate (glass, metal strap, plastic….)
  • Silicon with a “consumption” lower raw materials
  • without Silicon (CIS / CIGS cell (Copper, Indium, Gallium and Selenium)).

Recently, two Japanese researchers of the Rishi University of Yokohama – Tsutomu Miyasaka and Takurou Murakami – have designed a revolutionary sensor capable of storing solar power without battery. This photo-condensateur named device promises a net simplification of the photovoltaic installations. According to its designers, This sensor would be twice as effective as conventional silicon-based sensors and could therefore operate with a low-intensity light, as inside a building or by time warped. Another area of research is the integration of photovoltaic components in building elements, which strongly reduces the overall cost (tiles, roofing panels, glazing, facades, etc.) and improving the architecture of the building.

La recherche photovoltaïque

La recherche est très active dans le domaine du solaire photovoltaïque. Les prix diminuent constamment et les rendements progressent.

En 20 ans, les rendements sont passés de 15 % à 42,8 % (septembre 2007) dans les laboratoires. Ce dernier chiffre est obtenu par un consortium (associant, entre autres, des chercheurs de recherchel’Université du Delaware, de l’institut technologique de Géorgie, de l’Université de Rochester et du MIT). Les rendements des systèmes disponibles commercialement sont quant à eux passés de 5 % à 22 %.

La technologie basée sur le silicium a un développement comparable à celui de l’industrie des semi-conducteurs. Quelques sociétés actives dans ce domaine, comme Sharp, sont aussi actives dans le photovoltaïque, mais de plus en plus de nouveaux entrants affichent leurs ambitions dans ce secteur de croissance.

Outre l’amélioration constante des produits à base de silicium, on peut citer plusieurs technologies innovantes qu’on espère promises à un bel avenir :

  • les cellules photovoltaïques en plastique
  • les cellules de Graetzel
  • les concentrateurs photovoltaïques (aussi dits « CPV »)
  • dopage par adjonction aux matériaux du capteur de points quantiques jouant le rôle de semi-conducteurs artificiels. Ces derniers étant conçus pour capter des longueurs d’onde spécifiques aujourd’hui mal exploitées (dispositif Cyrium élaboré au Canada), ils pourraient doper la production d’électricité en augmentant l’efficacité des systèmes à concentrateur d’environ 44 % selon ses concepteurs.
  • les couches minces métalliques déposées sur de nouveaux types de substats (verre, feuillard métallique, plastique….)
  • à base de silicium avec des « consommations » plus faibles de matières premières
  • sans silicium (CIS / Cellule CIGS (Cuivre, Indium, Gallium et Sélénium)).

Récemment, deux chercheurs japonais de l’université Toin de Yokohama – Tsutomu Miyasaka et Takurou Murakami – ont conçu un capteur révolutionnaire capable de stocker l’énergie solaire sans batterie. Ce dispositif nommé photo-condensateur promet une nette simplification des installations photovoltaïques. Selon ses concepteurs, ce capteur serait deux fois plus performant que les capteurs classiques à base de silicium et pourrait donc fonctionner avec une lumière de faible intensité, comme à l’intérieur d’un bâtiment ou par temps voilé. Un autre domaine de recherche est celui de l’intégration des composants photovoltaïques dans les éléments de construction, ce qui diminue fortement le coût global (tuiles, panneaux de toiture, vitrages, façades, etc.) et améliore l’architecture du bâtiment.